## Village of Rockland Special Meeting January 16, 2024

**Board Members Present:** President Jon Hohlfeld, Trustee Ole Mathison, Trustee Derek Millin, Trustee Randy Rowell, Trustee Corey Wilson

**Absent:** Trustee Bob Nielsen, Trustee Bob Rueckheim

**Support Staff Present:** Clerk/Treasurer Stephanie Rowell

Public Works Employee Isaac Bauer

Also Present: Dave Rasmussen & Rob Uphoff, MSA

Meeting called to order at 6:00 p.m. with President Jon Hohlfeld presiding.

Meeting was held to discuss the plans for the tax increment funds the Village will have going forward for the life of the TIF. The TIF was created 4/27/2010 and has a 20 year "life" with the end being 4/27/2030. The expenditure period will end 5 years prior to the life end of the TIF, therefore, the expenditure period will end on 4/27/2025. With that being said, the list of projects in the plan were reviewed as well as the spreadsheet containing the funds to date and projected funds to the end of the TIF. The guidelines for using the expenditure period of 4/27/25 for projects are that the projects need to be projects set forth in the approved plan AND one or more of the following scenarios: A. Project(s) started by 4/27/2025 B. Financing for the project(s) is established/secured by 4/27/2025 C. Project(s) have a signed contract with contractor(s) in place D. Project(s) have a signed Developer's Agreement in place by 4/27/2025.

With regards to the WWTP, wells and lift stations being TIF approved, Dave stated that since they are all serving the TIF district the ½ mile rule doesn't apply, meaning they would be approved even if they are not located in the TIF district. The formula to use for projects is either from the percentage of value of the TIF district or percentage of water users in the TIF district.

Both Dave and Rob suggested that we make a list of projects and prioritize them according to importance and go from there. Rob said he can get us a funding scorecard to utilize. A date was set for a special meeting to review projects on January 30<sup>th</sup> at 6:00 p.m.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: Derek Millin motioned and Randy Rowell seconded to adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 6:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephanie Rowell Village Clerk